January 2017 Ipsy Bag

Alright, let’s start this off a little different. This is my last Ipsy that I will be receiving. There will be no more resubscribing. I’ve decided to cut ties with this subscription bag. For starters, they would not stop sending stuff from The Balm. I was tired of it. I never used it and almost always tried to destash it. Aside from that, I don’t like the way they provided customer service to my BFFF. She received a tracking notification early in the month (I believe around the 6th). From then, it never updated. She contacted Ipsy not long after that. They assured her that it was on the way (not sure how they could tell when the tracking was not updating at all). Finally after over 20 days, she asked them for a refund. They told her that they do not issue refunds but they would send her another bag, that they would send another tracking code, and it would leave their warehouse in 5-7 days. Wait, what? Stop the truck. 5-7 days to send the replacement bag from their warehouse? So she would get her bag in February, and not be able to review the products to be able to get a better curated February bag. She cancelled, and I have cancelled in solidarity. I think that is a bit ridiculous and it should not have taken so long to resend a new bag when clearly the tracking was not updating on DHL and the tracking number was no good for USPS.

Aside from that, my bag this month was alright. I’ll use the products. I just have such a sour taste in my mouth that I’ll go with a different subscription service instead, like Boxycharm possibly. Either way, I’m done with Ipsy. Check out my bag below though.

20170120_133049

The bag is alright looking. I was not super excited about this bag but it looked much better in person than what I was expecting from pictures. It’s got a hole print pleather on the outside, and a silver fabric lining on the inside. It’s not too bad but my purse would destroy it.

Ah, what do we have here? Yet another product from the Balm? This time it was the Balm Bahama Mama Bronzer. Why do you guys keep giving me these tiny samples from the Balm when I tell you I don’t want them? I decided to give this bronzer a try. I wanted to see how it would do with contouring because I heard some okay things about it. It doesn’t look good on me. The contour looked like hell. It was a disaster. Never again.

Value: ~$8.14 for sample (0.57), $20 for full size (1.4 ounces)

20170120_133247

I’m pretty much down for brushes. I was getting a lot of Crown brushes which I liked. I had never received a brush from Beaute Basics but I figured I would try it. So I used it to put on my bronzers. I hate this brush. I don’t know what else to say. The bristles are soft enough but it is not densely packed enough. It moves too much and made things messy. Shame… Because apparently this is a private labeled by Crown Brush and I actually really like Crown Brush…

Value: $7.49

20170120_133200

Masks are alright in my book. This is the Pur-lisse Blue Lotus Seed Mud Mask + Exfoliant. never used a mask that was a mud mask and exfoliant before so that’s alright in my book. I will use this but I’m pretty sure the sample is just a one time use thing.

Value: ~$11 for sample (15 ml), $52 for full size (70ml)

Confession time. I’ve never used any of the It Cosmetics Bye Bye Under Eye products before but I have  heard some good things. So I figure this is not so bad. I don’t use much illuminating under my eyes but maybe it’s not a bad idea. I’m not disappointed in this, I just wish it wasn’t so tiny…

Value: ~$13 for sample (0.15 fl oz), $24 for full size (0.28 fl oz)

One more Ciate product for good measure. I got the Ciate Gelology Top coat. I wish I could see the inside of the bottle. But nail polish is always a sure fire thing in my bags. To be honest, I already have my holy grail topcoat, so this isn’t all together necessary. but I know I will get use out of it. I just want to be able to see my fill lines, guys…

Value: $17.00

Total Value: ~57.00

Alright, so that about sums it up. No more Ipsy bag reviews from me unfortunately. However, I am probably going to subscribe to Boxycharm soon here, I think. I’ve been interested in them for a while. Farewell, Ipsy. I won’t miss you.

Disclaimer: I don’t receive any monetary compensation for posting my bag. I’m a regular person who pays $10 a month for this bag. I have no incentive to post nice things about this bag.

Leave a Reply

